Loading... Please wait...

Advanced Search | Search Tips


    Bach, Sonata No. 2 in A minor for Solo Violin

    Shipping details
    Bookmark and Share

    Product Description

    Bach, Sonata No. 2 in A minor for Solo Violin (Edition Peters)

    Edited by Carl Flesch

    Composed in 1720 by Johann Sebastian Bach

    4 movements:

    • Grave
    • Fuga
    • Andante
    • Allegro

    Each of Bach's solo sonatas  for violin consist of four movements, in the typical slow-fast-slow-fast pattern of the sonata da chiesa. The first two movements are coupled as prelude and fugue. The slow third movement is lyrical, while the final movement has a similar musical structure as a common binary suite movement.  Sonata No 2 in A was later transcribed for harpsichord by the composer, catalogued as BWV 964.

    In contrast to the sonatas, the partitas have more unorthodox structure. Although still making use of the usual baroque style of  allemande, courante, sarabande and gigue, with some omissions and the addition of galanteries, new elements were introduced into each partita to provide variety.

    Find Similar Products by Category

    Write your own product review

    Product Reviews

    This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

    Add to Wish List

    Click the button below to add the Bach, Sonata No. 2 in A minor for Solo Violin to your wish list.

    You Recently Viewed...