Loading... Please wait...

Advanced Search | Search Tips


    Bloch Nigun for Violin from Baal Shem (Fischer)

    Shipping details
    Bookmark and Share

    Product Description

    Ernest Bloch, Nigun (Improvisation) No. 2 for Violin from Baal Shem (Fischer Edition)

    arranged for violin and piano

    In 1923, Ernest Bloch composed a three-movement suite "Baal Shem (Three Pictures of Chassidic Life)" which he dedicated to his mother. Nigun (Improvisation) is the second movement of this suite.  The Baal Shem Tov was the legendary founder of Chassidism which aimed to reinvigorate Jewish life by emphasizing emotion, joy, and mysticism rather than only rationalism, learning and ritual. The three movements of Bloch's suite, Vidui (contrition), Nigun (singing or improvisation) and Simhat Torah (rejoicing for the giving of the Torah) are all in a distinctively Jewish idiom and capture something of the Jewish search for God. The emotion and spirituality of this music are open to all.

    Find Similar Products by Tag


    Find Similar Products by Category

    Write your own product review

    Product Reviews

    This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

    Add to Wish List

    Click the button below to add the Bloch Nigun for Violin from Baal Shem (Fischer) to your wish list.

    You Recently Viewed...